I Will Be the Stream

It’s so easy to sink into the normality of everyday life, and gradually stop appreciating its beauty. Get used to the fact that it lasts, without thinking that it will ever reach its end. Continuous being on the road allows me to find uniqueness in everyday life, as I very often lose it. Wake up in the same bed and surround myself with the same faces is something extraordinary and beautiful, but also very difficult and scary.

After returning from my three month trip through the Balkans, I was completely unable to find myself in a reality with the same horizon. I wanted the intensity and excitement that normal life can not provide me. I did not live life to the fullest and it was slowly killing me. When most of my travel plans for this year were deleted, I became completely indifferent. I could stare at the empty wall for hours, having no thoughts in my mind. I did not sleep, I did not eat, I did not smile. Slowly and systematically, I was disappearing  from this world.

Tak łatwo zatopić się w normalności codziennego życia, stopniowo przestając doceniać jego piękno. Przyzwyczaić się do tego, iż trwa, nie myśląc o tym, że kiedyś osiągnie swój kres. Ciągłe bycie w drodze pozwala mi odnaleźć unikatowość w codzienności, gdyż tak często ją tracę. Budzenie się w tym samym łóżku i otaczanie tymi samymi twarzami jest czymś nadzwyczajnym i pięknym, lecz zarazem bardzo ciężkim i przerażającym. 

Po powrocie z mojej trzymiesięcznej podróży przez Bałkany, zupełnie nie potrafiłam odnaleźć się w rzeczywistości, w której horyzont jest wciąż ten sam. Pragnęłam intensywności i emocji, których normalne życie nie jest w stanie mi zapewnić. Nie żyłam pełnią i to powoli mnie zabijało. Gdy niedawno większość moich planów podróżniczych na ten rok legła w gruzach, zupełnie zobojętniałam. Godzinami potrafiłam wpatrywać się w pustą ścianę, wyzbywając się z głowy wszelkich myśli. Nie spałam, nie jadłam, nie uśmiechałam się. Powoli i systematycznie znikałam z tego świata. 

IMG_9547

And then I opened the letter. I got dozens of them, for various occasions. Mikołaj knows my weakness for thoughts poured onto paper and has wrote lots of them for me. Enough for a few months, I guess. This one was entitled – “In case of a solo travel”. I decided to open it, because after our plans has changed, it turned out that I will go on my next trips mostly alone. I found there a lot of wise and beautiful words, which became the source of strength and the will to fight. The letter was completed with quote:

In the confrontation between the stream and the rock, the stream always wins, not through strength but by perseverance.

At this point, I knew I was not going to give up. Difficult moments will no doubt come, but I will look at them as an experience and a source of strength. I will rise through every stumble and never give up my dreams. A friend asked me today, what would happen if I did not succeed. Without hesitation, I replied that I don’t take such an option into account. I know that life will surprise me a lot and not everything will as I want to, but I promise to myself that I will try until I accomplish what I desire.

This is my last night in my family home. Tomorrow, I’m leaving with a one way ticket, lots of plans and faith in my abilities. I wonder where they will lead me.

Wtedy otworzyłam list. Dostałam ich kilkadziesiąt, na przeróżne okazje. Mikołaj zna bowiem moją słabość do myśli przelanych na papier i zaopatrzył mnie nimi na kilka miesięcy. Ten był zatytułowany – “W przypadku podróży solo”. Postanowiłam go otworzyć, gdyż w związku ze zmianą planów, najbliższe podróże odbędę samotnie. Znalazłam w nim wiele mądrych i pięknych słów, w których odnalazłam siłę oraz wolę walki. Zakończony był cytatem:

W konfrontacji strumienia ze skałą, strumień zawsze wygrywa – nie przez swoją siłę, ale przez wytrwałość.

W tym momencie wiedziałam już, że się nie poddam. Ciężkie momenty bez wątpienia jeszcze nie raz się pojawią, ale potraktuję je jako doświadczenie i źródło siły. Wzrosnę poprzez każde potknięcie i nigdy nie zrezygnuję ze swoich marzeń. Przyjaciel zapytał mnie dziś, co się stanie, jeśli nie uda mi się ich spełnić. Bez zawahania odpowiedziałam, iż nie biorę takiej opcji pod uwagę. Wiem, że życie niejednokrotnie mnie zaskoczy i nie wszystko iść będzie po mojej myśli, lecz przysięgam sobie, że będę próbować tak długo, aż nie osiągnę tego, czego pragnę. 

To mój ostatni wieczór w rodzinnym domu. Jutro ruszam w drogę z biletem w jedną stronę, mnóstwem planów oraz wiarą w swoje możliwości. Ciekawe gdzie mnie one zaprowadzą.  

Leave a Reply

