How Travelling Redefined Home To Me

It was one of those warm Greek evenings. I was sitting in the harbor, staring at the burning mirror of the sea. Diamond ship along with its passengers drifted somewhere on the horizon.
To był jeden z ciepłych greckich wieczorów. Siedziałam w porcie i wpatrywałam się w płonące zwierciadło morza. Diamentowy statek wraz ze swoimi pasażerami dryfował gdzieś na horyzoncie.


Two months passed from the beginning of the Balkan trip, and the longing slowly began to flower in my small heart. However, not in relation to places, or to the way I lived before. I missed the smiles, the long nights spent on telling stories and beautiful days in the rocks or at the climbing gym; meals with loved ones, long walks and hikes in the mountains. If I had to go back now to my apartment in Kalisz, but it would be empty, I wouldn’t be happy. But if my relatives came here, between the sea and the mountains of warm Albania, I would have everything I want. I needed this trip, to realize that home is not a wall, roof, and the address; that home means people. It is said that being lucky is to have a place to come back. I believe, however, that true happiness is to have someone to come back to. 

Recently, more and more often I am questioned if I ever want to have a home, or if I want to constantly wandering all around the world. I believe that life on the road doesn’t mean homelessness. Homelessness is living in a house without love. I have people in my life that I love immensely, and also this one special soul. For the next couple years, without a doubt, I’ll be on the road, but while they will be more or less next to me, always and everywhere I would feel at home. And it makes me one of the happiest people in the world. 

Od rozpoczęcia bałkańskiej podróży minęły już 2 miesiące i w moim sercu powoli zaczęła zakwitać tęsknota. Jednak nie względem miejsc, ani tego jak żyłam kiedyś. Tęskniłam do uśmiechów, do długich nocy spędzonych na rozmowach i pięknych dni w skałach lub na ściance wspinaczkowej; do posiłków z bliskimi, długich spacerów i wędrówek w górach. Gdybym miała wrócić teraz do mojego mieszkania w Kaliszu, jednakże byłoby ono puste, nie cieszyłabym się powrotem. Gdyby jednak moi bliscy zjawili się tutaj, między morzem a górami rozpalonej Słońcem Albanii, nie brakowałoby mi już niczego. Potrzebowałam tej podróży, aby uświadomić sobie, że dom to nie ściany, dach i adres; że dom to ludzie. Powiada się, że radością jest mieć gdzie wracać. Ja jednak wierzę, że prawdziwym szczęściem jest mieć do kogo. 

Ostatnio coraz częściej pytana jestem o to, czy kiedykolwiek chcę mieć dom, czy może będę tak cały czas krążyć po świecie. Ja jednak wierzę, że życie w drodze to nie bezdomność. Bezdomność to życie w domu bez miłości. Mam przy sobie osoby, które kocham bezgranicznie i również tę jedną szczególną. Przez kolejne lata bez wątpienia będę w drodze, ale póki Oni będą trwać przy mnie, zawsze i wszędzie będę czuła się jak u siebie. I to czyni mnie jedną z najszczęśliwszych osób na świecie.


Leave a Reply

