Coming Home, Heading East and Cycling from the Arctic Circle – So What Are My Plans for the Next Year?

The last days were the time to make a very important decision about my American trip. For several months, I couldn’t decide when exactly I should begin my journey. Autumn seemed to be too late and spring too far…A lot of sleepless nights, head filled with thousands of thoughts and discussions with my closest friends, finally led me to the point where everything seemed to be obvious.

In the last post, I mentioned that I think about setting off around September and October. This period seemed quite reasonable to me, as my tenancy agreement is ending, flight fares are falling, and three months seemed to be an optimal time to prepare for the expedition. However, for unknown reasons, I didn’t take into account the most important factor during such a journey – the weather conditions. September in Poland or England is one of the best months, as devoid of the summer heat, but still warm enough to go outside without several layers of clothing. In Alaska, it looks a bit different. Temperatures begin to fall, the days become shorter and the precipitation rate is the highest compared to the rest of the year. The following months are full of huge snowfalls, extreme weather conditions and temperatures falling to -40 degrees in the interior. What does this mean for me? Without a doubt, much less comfortable ride, greater risk and the need to escape to the South at the fastest possible pace, giving up exploration of Alaska and Canada, where the conditions will be almost the same. Unfortunately, even this escape would not be the easiest thing, as the first stage of the journey from Alaska to Argentina, is a 666km highway called “The Haul Road”, which is one of the most isolated and the most dangerous highways in the United States. Along the way, there are only three cities with a total population of 60 people, and anyone who travels there should have the equipment and skills to survive the wild.

Ostatnie dni były dla mnie czasem na podjęcie niezwykle ważnych decyzji, które zaważą na losach mojej przyszłej wyprawy. Od kilku miesięcy wahałam się, kiedy dokładnie powinnam rozpocząć moją podróż. Jesień wydawała mi się być zbyt późna, a wiosna tak odległa…Wiele nieprzespanych nocy, głowa wypełniona tysiącami myśli i rozmowy przeprowadzone z bliskimi mi osobami, w końcu doprowadziły mnie do momentu, w którym wszystko wydało się być oczywiste.

W ostatnim poście wspomniałam, iż zastanawiam się nad wyruszeniem w okolicach września i października. Ten okres wydawał się dość rozsądny, gdyż kończy mi się umowa na dom, ceny lotów spadają, a 3 miesiące są w miarę optymalnym czasem na przygotowanie się do wyprawy. Z nieznanych mi powodów, nie wzięłam jednak pod uwagę tego, co podczas takiej podróży jest najważniejsze, czyli warunków atmosferycznych. Wrzesień w Polsce czy Anglii jest jednym z najlepszych miesięcy, gdyż pozbawionym letnich upałów, ale umożliwiającym przebywanie na zewnątrz bez konieczności posiadania kilku warstw ubrań. Na Alasce wygląda on jednak nieco inaczej. Temperatury zaczynają spadać, dni stają się krótsze, a wskaźnik opadów atmosferycznych jest najwyższy w porównaniu do reszty roku. Późniejsze miesiące wiążą się z olbrzymimi opadami śniegu, ekstremalnymi warunkami pogodowymi i temperaturami spadającymi w interiorze do -40 stopni. Co to oznacza dla mnie? Bez wątpienia znacznie mniejszy komfort jazdy, większe ryzyko i konieczność ucieczki na Południe w najszybszym możliwym tempie, rezygnując z dokładniejszego zbadania piękna Alaski oraz Kanady, gdzie warunki będą bardzo podobne. Niestety nawet ta ucieczka nie byłaby rzeczą najłatwiejszą, gdyż pierwszym etapem drogi z Alaski do Argentyny jest tzw. Haul Road, czyli jedna z najniebezpieczniejszych i najbardziej odizolowanych autostrad w Stanach Zjednoczonych, mierząca 666km. Po drodze znajdują się jedynie 3 miasta z łączną populacją 60 osób, a każdy kto ją przemierza, powinien mieć ze sobą sprzęt umożliwiający przetrwanie w dziczy.

DaltonSign

I began to have doubts whether it is worth risking my life, only because my impatient and curious soul yearns to explore new places. Departure at this time of year could even lead to having to stop my trip if the weather conditions wouldn’t allow me to move forward. I could loose too much and gain too little. But even then, it was difficult to make a final decision, so I decided to ask my best friends and loved ones for advice. To my surprise, each of them told me the same thing – “Ola, wait”. All unanimously agreed that I should set off in the early spring, and now focus on raising money, buying good equipment and gaining experience through smaller expeditions in Europe. It would be also nice to spend some time with my family and friends, whom I haven’t seen for almost a year.

Zaczęłam mieć wątpliwości, czy warto aż tak ryzykować tylko dlatego, iż moja niecierpliwa i ciekawa świata dusza rwie się do poznawania nowych miejsc. Wyruszenie o tej porze roku mogłoby nawet doprowadzić do konieczności przerwania mojej wyprawy, jeśli warunki atmosferyczne nie pozwalałyby mi na przemieszczanie się naprzód. Zbyt wiele mogłabym stracić, a zbyt mało zyskać. Mimo wszystko, trudno było mi podjąć ostateczną decyzję, więc postanowiłam zwrócić się o pomoc do kilku bliskich mi osób. Ku memu zaskoczeniu, każda z nich powiedziała mi to samo – „Ola, poczekaj”. Wszyscy jednogłośnie stwierdzili, iż powinnam wyruszyć na wiosnę, a do tego czasu skupić się na zbieraniu pieniędzy, sprzętu i nabywaniu doświadczenia poprzez nieco mniejsze wyprawy po Europie. Ponadto warto byłoby również spędzić nieco czasu z rodziną i przyjaciółmi, których nie widziałam już niemalże rok.

sunset_cycling_in_sudan
Alastair Humphreys cycling in Sudan

Although in the beginning I was a little skeptical of this solution, now I am very happy with the decision that I made. In Autumn, I will come back to Poland, from where I’m going to cycle to Turkey, and then around my wonderful country. In the meantime, I will train under the guidance of the most wonderful friends in the world, to be well prepared for everything I can find in America. I’ll spend the winter season in the Tatras, Christmas time with my lovely family and the 20th birthday among those whom I missed so much! When I think of all the wonderful adventures that are waiting for me, pure happiness fills my body and soul. It will be a really wonderful time!

Choć na początku byłam nieco sceptycznie nastawiona do takiego rozwiązania, teraz bardzo cieszę się z podjętej przeze mnie decyzji. Jesienią wrócę do Polski, skąd wyruszę rowerem do Turcji, a następnie dookoła mojego wspaniałego kraju. W międzyczasie będę trenować pod okiem najcudowniejszych przyjaciół na świecie, aby być jak najbardziej przygotowana na to, co zastanę w Ameryce. Spędzę sezon zimowy w Tatrach, Święta z rodziną oraz 20. urodziny w gronie tych, za którymi tak bardzo tęskniłam. Gdy myślę o tych wszystkich wspaniałych przygodach, które na mnie czekają, przepełnia mnie czyste szczęście. To będzie naprawdę cudowny czas!

One thought on “Coming Home, Heading East and Cycling from the Arctic Circle – So What Are My Plans for the Next Year?

Leave a Reply

