When It Comes Time To Say Goodbye And Hit The Road Again

These are my last three months in Manchester. I’ll have to give up everything that became extremely close to me for the new experiences and loneliness yet again. I know it will hurt, but something inside me tells me that I have to move on. It would be so easy to stay where I am, live my life, have some stability. After all, most people do this. It’s the easiest way, which, paradoxically, is the hardest to take.

When I think about my life, I see a forest path, steep mountain slopes and the stars lighting up the depths of the night. I can hear the noise of swaying trees, stones dancing under my shoes and singing mountain stream. Quiet mornings coloured by the rising Sun, days filled with adventures and eventually evenings lit by distant galaxies.

To moje ostatnie trzy miesiące w Manchesterze. Ponownie przyjdzie mi porzucić wszystko co stało mi się przez ten niezwykle bliskie na rzecz nowych doświadczeń i samotności. Wiem, że będzie bolało, ale coś w środku mówi mi, że muszę ruszyć dalej. Niby tak łatwo byłoby zostać, ułożyć sobie życie, odnaleźć odrobinę stabilizacji. Przecież większość osób tak żyje. To najprostsza droga, którą paradoksalnie najciężej mi obrać.

Gdy myślę o moim życiu, widzę leśną ścieżkę, strome zbocza gór i gwiazdy rozpalające otchłań nocy. Słyszę szum rozkołysanych drzew, kamienie tańczące pod moimi butami i śpiew górskiego strumienia. Ciche poranki koloru wschodzącego Słońca, dni wypełnione przygodami i w końcu wieczory oświetlone blaskiem odległych galaktyk.

Home? For now, I can find it in people, the road and the majestic walls of the mountains. However, when one day I’ll have to choose my safe haven, I’ll find it in the lush green forests surrounding rocky slopes and the crystal surface of the lake. I will find it in a small wooden house, which door will be placed towards the east, as a gateway to a new day, a new journey. I do not want the sounds of a living city, shoes hastily hitting the sidewalk, honking of impatient drivers. I only need the sing of the birds bathed in the colors of the rainbow, the rustle of a living forest and a deep breath of the Earth after sunset.

I do not want to live in a hurry to meet someone’s expectations, take the same train as others. Because I do not want to be others. I want to be myself. And if I have to risk too, I’ll do it, because I have only one life and I intend to live it to the fullest.

A dom? Na razie widzę go w ludziach, drodze i majestatycznych ścianach gór. Jednak gdy kiedyś przyjdzie mi wybrać moją bezpieczną przystań, to znajdę ją w soczyście zielonym lesie otulającym skalne zbocza i kryształowej tafli jeziora. Znajdę ją w małym drewnianym domu, którego drzwi będą zwrócone ku wschodowi, stanowiąc bramę do nowego dnia, nowej podróży. Nie pragnę odgłosów żyjącego miasta, dźwięku butów pospiesznie uderzających o posadzkę chodnika, trąbienia niecierpliwych kierowców. Wystarczy mi śpiew ptaków wykąpanych w kolorach tęczy, szelest żyjącego lasu i głęboki oddech Ziemi po zachodzie Słońca.

Nie chcę żyć w pośpiechu, spełniać czyichś oczekiwań, wsiąść do tego samego pociągu co inni. Bo nie chcę być innymi. Chcę być sobą. I jeśli przyjdzie mi dla tego zaryzykować, zrobię to, bo mam tylko jedno życie i zamierzam w pełni je wykorzystać.

2014-08-07 08.44.46 1

In the last post I wrote about what I need to do before my next trip, but writing itself is not enough, so for the last few months I tried to turn my plans into reality. I gave up public transportation and started using a bike, learnt basic things about mechanics and bought some equipment. I also made a list of things to take, and nearly completed a budget plan of the expedition.

A week ago, I went to London for my appointment for the US visa and my application was successful! So far everything is going the way I planned it.

IMG_3787W ostatnim poście pisałam o tym, co muszę zrobić przed moją najbliższą wyprawą. Samo pisanie jednak nie wystarczy, więc przez ostatnie miesiące starałam się wcielić moje plany w życie. Zrezygnowałam z komunikacji miejskiej na rzecz roweru, nauczyłam się podstawowych rzeczy związanych z mechaniką i kupiłam trochę sprzętu. Stworzyłam także listę rzeczy do zabrania i prawie ukończyłam plan budżetowy wyprawy.

Tydzień temu udałam się do Londynu na spotkanie z konsulem dotyczące ubiegania się o wizę do Stanów Zjednoczonych i moja aplikacja została rozpatrzona pozytywnie! Jak na razie wszystko idzie po mojej myśli.

IMG_3717

I would like to start my journey this year, probably in September, but the weather conditions that I could expect in Alaska and Canada at that time, make me question it. In addition, September is reportedly the rainiest month in the far North. I have some serious dilemmas, but I’ll find a solution.

But to be honest, I’m very scared, and sometimes I think that it would be really nice to spend my life eating dark chocolate and watching movies, but I heard that they have the best chocolate in Peru. And that’s probably a reason good enough to hit the road again.

Chciałabym wyruszyć jeszcze w tym roku, najpewniej we wrześniu, jednak zastanawiają mnie temperatury jakie mogłabym wtedy zastać na Alasce i w Kanadzie. Ponadto wrzesień to podobno najbardziej deszczowy miesiąc na dalekiej Północy. Przede mną poważne dylematy, ale na pewno znajdę jakieś wyjście.

Tak naprawdę strasznie się boję i czasem myślę sobie, że miło byłoby spędzić życie jedząc gorzką czekoladę i oglądając filmy, ale słyszałam, że najlepszą czekoladę mają w Peru. To chyba wystarczający powód aby ruszyć w drogę.

Leave a Reply

