Seize The Moment

I’m lying on my bed and looking at my room for the last time. On the shelf are guides to Iceland, Polish-Icelandic dictionary and books of Icelandic authors. On my desk is standing a very old map of Iceland, on which I always stared up, pretending that I’m doing homework. Beside several Icelandic movies, album of Icelandic photographer, Sigur Rós music albums and postcard from my friend from South of this island. Lopapeysa and chalk bag with flag of Iceland is already in my backpack.

For the few years, it was one of my biggest dreams. I saw travel to Iceland as the trip to the place where someone once put a piece of my soul. Come back home.

I don’t know, when exactly was born in me a plan to cross South of this island alone, but before I gathered thoughts, the ticked has already been purchased, and all things ordered. The decision has been taken.

At the news of my trip, everybody was telling me that they admire me for enormous courage. I was very surprised by that fact, because I’ve lived through the last few weeks under constant stress. I often dreamed that I didn’t take everything, that I got lost. Today, when I was packing my backpack, I almost didn’t fainted when I realized that I barely putting my things into it, despite the fact, that I limited them to minimum!

I still don’t know how to get to Skógar, where I could leave my small backpack, if I hike some kilometers with all this things.

Only once I was carrying 24kg, but for about 20km. In Iceland, I would like to hike hundreds, and the backpack is unlikely to be lighter.
I’m afraid of fog, lossing orientation, the weight of my backpack, crossing ranging rivers. I’m afraid that something happens to me, and I’ll not be able to ask for help. I’m afraid of large masses of snow and earthquakes, which reappeared in the South. But most of all, I’m afraid of regret and missing opportunities. And this biggest fear, becomes my main motivation. 
If I can live only once, I want to live beautifully. If I dream about visiting Iceland, then I must go there. Because after death I’ll not have opportunities to do so, because once it’s too late. 
The fact that I decided to go alone into the unknown, does not mean that I’m unique, I have extraordinary courage and I was created for this. I just really want to fulfill my dreams, explore the world and myself. I want to see how much I can, and then move my limits. I want to live fully and deeply believe that each of you could and should do the same! Let’s try to seize the beautiful brief moment of being alive. Let’s do something that will make us smile. Because for this all boils down to. To one sincere smile that fills body and soul in some unique time. 

______________

Leżę na łożku i po raz ostatni spoglądam na swój pokój. Na półce stoją przewodniki po Islandii, słownik polsko-islandzki i książki autorów z wyspy ognia i lodu. Na biurku stoi stara mapa Islandii, w którą zawsze wpatrywałam się, udając, że odrabiam prace domowe. Obok kilka islandzkich filmów, album islandzkiego fotografa, płyty Sigur Rós i kartka od mojego kolegi z Południa tej wyspy. Lopapeysa i woreczek na magnezję z flagą Islandii jest już w plecaku.

Od wielu lat było to jedno z moich największych marzeń. Wyjazd na Islandię postrzegałam jako podróż do miejsca, w którym ktoś kiedyś umieścił kawałek mej duszy. Powrót do domu.
Nie wiem, w którym momencie narodził się we mnie plan samotnego przejścia Południa tej wyspy, ale zanim pozbierałam myśli, bilet był już kupiony, a rzeczy zamówione. Decyzja została podjęta.

Na wieść o mej wyprawie, wszyscy powtarzali mi, że podziwiają mnie za olbrzymią odwagę. Bardzo mnie to dziwiło, gdyż ja przez ostatnie tygodnie żyłam w ciągłym stresie. Często śniło mi się, że czegoś nie wzięłam, że zabłądziłam. Dziś przy pakowaniu plecaka, niemalże nie zemdlałam, gdy zobaczyłam, że ledwo mieszczę w nim wszystkie rzeczy, a i tak ograniczałam je do minimum!
Wciąż nie wiem jak dostanę się do Skógar, gdzie zostawię plecak podręczny, czy uniosę to wszystko. Tylko raz niosłam 24kg, ale przez mniej więcej 20km. Na Islandii chciałabym przejść kilkaset, a plecak raczej nie będzie lżejszy.

Boję się mgły, utraty orientacji, ciężaru plecaka, przekraczania rwących rzek. Boję się, że coś mi się stanie, a nie będę mogła wezwać pomocy. Boję się dużych mas śniegu i trzęsień ziemi, które znowu pojawiły się na Południu. Jednak najbardziej ze wszystkiego, boję się żalu i straconych szans. I to właśnie ten największy strach, staje się moją główną motywacją. 

Jeśli dane mi jest żyć tylko raz, to chcę żyć pięknie. Jeśli marzę o tym, aby zobaczyć Islandię, to muszę tam pojechać. Bo po śmierci nie będę miała ku temu okazji, bo kiedyś będzie za późno. 
To, że postanowiłam udać się samotnie w nieznane, nie oznacza, iż jestem wyjątkowa, mam nieprzeciętną odwagę i zostałam do tego stworzona. Ja po prostu bardzo chcę spełniać swoje marzenia, poznawać świat i siebie samą. Chcę zobaczyć, na ile mnie stać, a następnie przesuwać własne granice. Chcę żyć pełnią i głęboko wierzę w to, że każdy z was mógłby i powinien zrobić to samo! Spróbujmy wykorzystać w piękny sposób tę krótką chwilę, jaką jest życie. Zróbmy coś, co sprawi, że na naszej twarzy pojawi się uśmiech. Do tego bowiem wszystko się sprowadza. Do jednego szczerego uśmiechu, który przepełnia ciało i duszę w pewnym wyjątkowym momencie. 



Aleksandra

9 thoughts on “Seize The Moment

  1. Dear Aleksandra,

    What an amazing blogg – I really like your way off writing – at most the part about your feelings and overthinking that much.

    It is gonna be alright – you know that as well as I know that.
    Believe me, you are ready for this, so keep your head up :).

    Gr Maarten

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Trzymam bardzo mocno kciuki za Twoją wyprawę 🙂 mam ogromną nadzieję, że przywieziesz stamtąd nie tylko poękne wspomnienia, ale i przecudne zdjęcia. Kto wie, może nawet spotkasz miłość swojego życia?
    Co do cząstki duszy, ja również swoją Gdzieś zostawiłam. Owym Gdzieś są Stany Zjednoczone, do których, mam nadzieję, uda mi się kiedyś wyjechać. Na stałe, do Domu. Czuję bowiem, tak jak i Ty wobec Islandii, że moje Stany to mój jedyny i prawdziwy Dom, w którym w pełni czuję się patriotką.

    Zatem… Keep calm and go ahead!

    Całuski, Lenny

    Liked by 1 person

  3. “If I can live only once, I want to live beautifully”. I love this quote. Go, live your dream and nothing bad will happen to you, because also bad things will turn to positive experiences and your will learn from them. Have the adventure of your life!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hello
    I send you a lot of strength and energy on this trip.
    Alexsandra have something very special about you, your strength and your courage will take you away.
    surely you’ll have hard times but I’m also sure that will come out later.

    good trip and take care, Your friend south of the planet

    Guille
    (excuse my English)

    Like

    1. Hello! Thank you very much for your beautiful words. I’m glad and honored knowing that you see me that way.
      I actually had a lot of hard moments at the beginning, but I see them as a great experiences and something that makes me stronger 🙂

      Greetings from my little tent!
      Aleksandra

      Like

Leave a Reply

