I Choose Life On The Road

WERSJA POLSKA

Long hours of contemplation, thousands of sleepless nights and years of waiting. All this to finally see it, to admire the beauty of its unreal landscape and soak up enormous tranquility of endless wasteland.

My huge fascination with this unusual island began in a sleepless night, which I decided to fill with the show of moving images. While viewing a different random proposals, my eyes stopped suddenly on a great poster showing a distant hill in the dark blue light. I felt tranquility emanating from it, which at that time I really missed. Then, I didn’t thought that with the start of seance, I am starting a new life.

7195781.3
Heima” sparked in me the love to Sigur Rós and to their country of origin, so to Iceland. That night I found a place that is a mirror of my soul.
From that moment, several years had passed, during which my love for this country had time to strengthen and mature. But still for various reasons could not reach fulfillment. Until now …


A few days ago, came to me one way ticket dated to 6th of July. This means that for 59 days I will set my foot on Icelandic land, becoming the happiest person in the world!

bilet!!!
I want to to cross South of Iceland alone. I do not know how long it will take me. I do not know when or for how long I will return. All I know is that this is what I desire, and that I want my whole life to become one big journey.

Taken from website of wonderful person and traveler: http://www.alastairhumphreys.com
Taken from website of wonderful person and traveler: http://www.alastairhumphreys.com

I finished high school and stepped into adulthood. But I do not want to make it a typical pattern consisting of going to university, to work from 9 to 17 doing something I do not like, with people who irritate me, take a loan for an apartment and a car, chasing stabilization to afford 2-week vacation in some Egyptian hotel once a year.

Unfortunately, I do not know the author

I want life that is an adventure; constantly discovering new places, people and cultures. Which is waking up every day in a different place, breathing new air.

ah72-1
Unfortunately, I do not know the author

I want to challenge myself and strive to achieve, what I have planned. I want to push the boundaries, constantly work on myself. I want to live, not to exist.

11165264_971348256231551_1903119779445884368_n
Photo taken by Chris Burkard

Therefore, although I originally planned to settle in Iceland this year, now I choose life on the road. Iceland is no longer a terminus, but stopover. Time will tell what will be the next one.

Photo: Max Rive
Photo of Iceland taken by Max Rive

Aleksandra

3 thoughts on “I Choose Life On The Road

  1. Do dziś nie do końcaca rozumiałem. Teraz nie tylko rozumiem, ale i czuję.
    Bo prawdę odkrywa się nie tylko rozumem, ale i sercem 😀
    SO

    Like

  2. “(…) I see a vision of a great rucksack revolution thousands or even millions of young Americans wandering around with rucksacks, going up to mountains to pray, making children laugh and old men glad, making young girls happy and old girls happier, all of ’em Zen Lunatics who go about writing poems that happen to appear in their heads for no reason and also by being kind and also by strange unexpected acts keep giving visions of eternal freedom to everybody and to all living creatures.” -Jack Kerouac, The Dharma Bums.

    You should read this book 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

