Immorality

I think about him every day, creating in my head vision of his person based on old photographs, dad’s stories, things he left, and my own imagination. I never had the chance to meet him, but despite that fact, I feel that he is closer to me than anyone else.

IMG_0520

Before I came into the world, he has already left it. For many years, I could not accept that thought. I felt that I need him very much. But now I start to believe that we never fully go away, that every man has his ‘horcruxes’ which make that somehow we remain immortal.

IMG_0566

My grandfather was a cartographer and also founder of the theater and film group. But first of all he was a huge lover of the mountains, especially our wonderful Tatras. Above sea level, he spent most of his time, sending a lot of postcards with a description of trails, which I am now trying to wander.
In their contents was also a place for the admiration of the beauty and majesty of the granite walls, as well as expression of happiness, which was caused by staying among them. Undoubtedly, he loved them above all else and wanted to pass that love on.

Postcard in which he describes the trail (Orla Perć) that I climbed two months ago
Postcard in which he describes the trail (Orla Perć) that I climbed two months ago
My grandfather (first from right) with his film group
My grandfather (first from right) with his film group

IMG_0567

My grandfather was also a great lover of motorcycles
My grandfather was also a great lover of motorcycles
Grandparents and dad
Grandparents and dad
My dad's brother, grandfather and my little daddy
My dad’s brother, grandfather and my little daddy
My beloved grandparents
My beloved grandparents
Always focused on the mountains
Always focused on the mountains

IMG_0574

My dad went through them with my grandfather length and breadth, and then he did it with me. Mountains have become a bridge between generations, between life and death.

IMG_0524

IMG_0575

IMG_0522

IMG_0516

IMG_0519

IMG_0515

IMG_0517

IMG_0518

IMG_0514

IMG_0512

IMG_0507

IMG_0571

IMG_0570

IMG_0573

IMG_0500

My sister, dad and me in the Tatra Mountains
My sister, dad and I in the Tatra Mountains
In the mountains I always felt like at home
In the mountains I always felt like at home
Kasprowy Wierch (Tatra Mountains)
Kasprowy Wierch (Tatra Mountains)

IMG_0525

It was a really happy time!
It was a really happy time!

Although since the death of my grandfather several decades have passed, every time I go into the mountains, I feel his presence. Every word, breath, heartbeat, the sound of steps posed, touch – all this remained surrounded by granite peaks of the Tatra Mountains. When I go there alone, I feel all these elements fullest, but even when I walk with others, always feel that he accompanies me, that he protects me and gives strength.

IMG_0529

Our beautiful childhood
Our beautiful childhood
Since always in harmony with nature!
Since always in harmony with nature!

IMG_0534
My dad always told me that I am smiliar to him. My grandfather was a very diligent man, strong, brave, and very precise, which is basically what demanded from him his job. However, it was also in him a place for warmth and sensitivity, which appeared in his relation to the mountains.
I wish that someone could once describe me using these words. However, I know that I still have a lot of work to be able to get closer to that image. But I will take up this challenge. I know he would want it.
We often do not realize how much impact we can have on the lives of others, both those living now and those whose time is yet to come. My grandfather surely did not think that by his passion he will change my whole life, that he would pass me something that has become my greatest love and the meaning of life.

Grandpa while climbing
Grandpa while climbing
Daddy while climbing
Daddy while climbing
And now it's my turn!
And now it’s my turn!
In the picture on the left - me and my sister, and on the right - my dad. Everything has changed, but the mountains are still the same.
In the picture on the left – me and my sister, and on the right – my dad. Everything has changed, but the mountains are still the same.
Love for cinematography that my grandfather passed to my dad, is also a part of my life
Love for cinematography that my grandfather passed to my dad, is also a part of my life

Therefore, we should strive to be the best people, pass on to others good models. We need to inspire and help in finding own path. We should have a sense of duty and responsibility to the next generation, because in this way we shape the image of the world. The world that we should leave more beautiful than we found it.

Deserve the respect
Deserve the respect

WERSJA POLSKA

Aleksandra

3 thoughts on “Immorality

Leave a Reply

